Fans have been voting for their favourite musician for weeks, with the awards body sharing the outcome on Twitter on Monday (14Nov16). Justin Bieber, Selena Gomez, Ariana Grande, Rihanna and Carrie Underwood will battle it out against Adele, Beyonce, Drake, Twenty One Pilots and The Weeknd to be crowned Artist of the Year.

Voting opened for the final five acts earlier this month, with fans able to vote 100 times a day on the AMA’s website and Twitter.

The awards bash, produced by DICk Clark productions and ABC in partnership with T-Mobile, will take place on 20 November.

Drake is leading the nominations with 13 nods, including Artist of the Year, Favourite Album Pop/Rock for Views and Favourite Male Artist Pop/Rock.

Rihanna comes in second with seven nominations, while Adele and Bieber are joint third with five apiece.

James Bay, Fifth Harmony, Lady Gaga, Green Day and Bruno Mars are among the acts taking to the stage to entertain the audience, with Gigi Hadid and Jay Pharoah co-hosting the prize giving event.