Gay cowboy drama Brokeback Mountain was the big winner at the Satellite Awards in Los Angeles on Saturday (17DEC05), picking up four accolades.

Ang Lee picked up Best Director for the film, which was also named Best Motion Picture - Drama, Best Editing and Best Song for A LOVE THAT WILL NEVER GROW OLD, at the 10th annual awards, which are organised by the International Press Academy.

Meanwhile, Philip Seymour Hoffman was named Best Actor - Motion Picture Drama for CAPOTE, while Felicity Huffman garnered Best Actress - Motion Picture Drama for TRANSAMERICA.

In the Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy category, Walk the Line picked up two awards - Best Actress for Reese Witherspoon for her portrayal of JUNE CARTER CASH, and Best Motion Picture, while Terrence Howard was named Best Actor - Musical or Comedy for Hustle and Flow.

Supporting actor awards went to Laura Linney (The Squid and the Whale), Danny Huston (The Constant Gardener), Rosario Dawson (RENT) and Val Kilmer (KISS KISS BANG BANG).

Other winners on the night include George Clooney and Grant Heslov for Best Original Screenplay for GOOD NIGHT, AND GOOD LUCK, Robin Swicord for Best Adapted Screenplay for Memoirs Of A Geisha and Best Motion Picture, Animated Or Mixed Media for The Chronicles Of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe.

Mini-series ELVIS and medical drama HOUSE were big winners in the TV categories, picking up three awards each.