The war drama is shortlisted for the Feature Film prize - a category that also features A Date for Mad Mary, Love & Friendship, The Secret Scripture, Tomato Red, and The Young Offenders.

Richie Smyth is up for Director - Film, facing off against Peter Foott (The Young Offenders), Jim Sheridan (The Secret Scripture), and Darren Thornton (A Date for Mad Mary), while his leading man, Fifty Shades of Grey star Dornan, will compete for the Best Actor accolade, alongside Michael Fassbender (The Light Between Oceans), Colm Meaney (The Journey), Alex Murphy (The Young Offenders), and Mark O'Halloran (History's Future).

Oscar nominee Ruth Negga (Loving) will battle Caoilfhionn Dunne (In View), Seana Kerslake (A Date For Mad Mary), Aisling Loftus (Property of the State), and Catherine Walker (A Dark Song) for the Best Actress prize, while supporting acting nods went to the likes of Colin Farrell (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them), Brendan Gleeson (Trespass Against Us), Jason O'Mara (The Siege of Jadotville), Charleigh Bailey (A Date for Mad Mary), and Hilary Rose (The Young Offenders).

Awards season favourite La La Land will also vie for the International Film award, against Hacksaw Ridge, Manchester By The Sea, and Oscars Best Picture winner Moonlight, while Ryan Gosling (La La Land), Casey Affleck, (Manchester By The Sea), Emma Stone (La La Land), and Viola Davis (Fences) are all up for international acting honours.

In the TV categories, Game of Thrones, Vikings, An Klondike, and The Fall are among the nominees for the Drama award, with Cillian Murphy (Peaky Blinders), Aidan Turner (Poldark), and James Nesbit (The Secret) up for the Actor in a Leading Role - Drama accolade.

Ruth Negga scores a second acting nod for her role in Preacher, competing against Anne Marie Duff (Murder: The Lost Weekend), Caitriona Balfe (Outlander), and others for the Actress in a Leading Role - Drama honour.

The IFTA Lifetime Achievement prize will be presented to Harry Potter star Michael Gambon.

The 2017 Irish Film and Television Awards will take place in Dublin, Ireland on 8 April (17).