Keyboardist Jonathan Cain reveals Perry will hit the stage to accept the prestigious accolade at the New York ceremony alongside longtime members Neal Schon, Ross Valory, and drummer Steve Smith, as well as former stars Gregg Rolie and Aynsley Dunbar, who will also be recognised for their contributions to the group.

Journey are also expected to perform, although according to Cain, Perry, who quit the line-up in 1998 after 21 years, will not take part in the live set, leaving current singer Arnel Pineda to belt out the band's biggest hits.

"The ceremony is the first time we're going to get to see Steve Perry in a long time, so that'll be fun," Cain told Florida's Dayton Daily News. "As far as we know he's just going to accept the award and then skedaddle (leave). That's all I know, unless something changes. Arnel is going to represent very well, like he always does."

The news of Perry's attendance emerges more than four months after Arnel revealed he would love for Journey's original line-up to be inducted, so he could finally get the chance to meet his predecessor.

"I'm longing to at least shake his hand," he told in November (16), when Journey were included on the shortlist of honourees. "I haven't had the chance for it (sic) for the past nine years. I've never met him. I hope we get inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame so maybe I'll get to see him."

Train frontman Pat Monahan will induct the Don't Stop Believin' hitmakers into the Hall of Fame at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn on 7 April (17).

Other acts included in the Class of 2017 are Pearl Jam, Electric Light Orchestra, Joan Baez, Yes, and Tupac Shakur.