Army Navy To Release 'The Crushed' Ep On August 20 2013

Army Navy To Release 'The Crushed' Ep On August 20 2013

Los Angeles-based indie-pop trio Army Navy are excited to announce the release of their new six-song EP titled The Crushed EP. Recorded with longtime producer Adam Lasus (Yo La Tengo, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah) at Fireproof Recording in Los Angeles, CA, The Crushed EP emerges from frontman Justin Kennedy's personal feelings of uncertainty and uses a recent, almost deadly, car crash as its principal inspiration for the EP's stark artwork. Check out an exclusive stream of "Crushed Like The Car" from The Crushed EP on Pitchfork.

Army Navy released its highly acclaimed self-titled debut album on its own label, The Fever Zone, in late 2008, an album Pitchfork declared a "bubbly effervescent valentine to obscure power pop bands of the late-1970s and early-'80s" in their 7.8 review, and a record NPR described as "a Posies-and-Teenage Fanclub-style tsunami of melody and distortion that underscores the youthful essence of power-pop in all its bittersweet glory."

In June 2011, the band launched its sophomore album titled The Last Place via the eMusic "Selects" program, a coveted spotlight that offered The Last Place to's subscribers exclusively for an entire month. eMusic went on to describe The Last Place as "a poisoned Valentine dripping with equal parts beauty and scorn; imagine a Vulcan mind-meld between Teenage Fanclub's Bandwagonesque and Marvin Gaye's Here, My Dear and you're there." 

Army Navy are currently finishing work on their third full-length album. Details on the album coming soon. 

The Crushed EP track listing:

01. Crushed Like the Car
02. Pickle
03. Summer Morning
04. Running Wild
05. Crushed Like the Car (Polymath Remix) 
06. Crushed Like the Car (Acid Invaders Remix)