Portasound 'Sacrifice ' Ep Out Feb 11th UK Feb  2013 Tours With Wave Machines & Gallops

Portasound 'Sacrifice ' Ep Out Feb 11th UK Feb 2013 Tours With Wave Machines & Gallops

Kick-starting 2013 as they mean to go on, London synth quintet PORTASOUND confirm the release of their new EP 'Sacrifice' on February 11th via Blood And Biscuits. To accompany it they also have a weird and wonderful video for the EP's lead track 'Time Lost', plus two extensive UK tours with Wave Machines and label mates Gallops.

As with their previous release 'The Second Renaissance EP', Portasound have created a sense of filmic purpose in their songs and put together an EP that, whilst each song may be enjoyed on it's own merits, is best digested from start to finish as a 20 minute sci-fi journey. James Dow, who steps forward on the 'Sacrifice' EP as the band incorporate more vocals, explains: "The aim was to create an EP which carried the atmosphere of some of our favourite dystopian films and novels with the energy of a live electronic band to create an intense and memorable listening experience both on record and on stage."

Opening track 'Time Lost' sends you on a voyage of psychedelic discovery fuelled by infectious melodies and intense percussion. It comes accompanied by a creepy yet humorous clip created, once again, by London filmmakers Cochrane & Cochrane.

Over the last few years, Portasound have shared stages with The XX, Two Door Cinema Club, Friendly Fires, Metronomy and Three Trapped Tigers whilst continuing to hone their own sound and grow from three to the five members who make up the live band today. They start 2013 by accompanying Liverpudlians Wave Machines on their UK tour before joining Blood and Biscuits label-mates Gallops for a series of dates that will surely warp minds across the country.

See Portasound live on these dates:


03 - Newcastle @ The Cluny 2 (w/ Wave Machines)

05 - Nottingham @ Bodega (w/ Wave Machines)

06 - London @ Scala (w/ Wave Machines)

07 - Southampton @ Joiners (w/ Wave Machines)

11 - Edinburgh @ Electric Circus (w/ Gallops)

12 - York @ Fibbers (w/ Gallops)

13 - Leicester @ Firebug (w/ Gallops)

14 - Birmingham @ Flapper (w/ Gallops)

15 - Bristol @ Start The Bus (w/ Gallops)

16 - Cardiff @ Buffalo Bar (w/ Gallops)

20 - Liverpool @ Shipping Forecast (w/ Gallops)

21 - London @ Lexington (w/ Gallops)

27 - Leeds @ Brudenell (w/ Gallops)

28 - Hartlepool @ The Studio (w/ Gallops)

'Sacrifice' EP track listing:

1. Time Lost

2. Procession

3. Furore

4. Ascension

Portasound are James Dow (vocals, keys), Michael Dow (bass, keys), Luke Bell (guitar), Thomas Ellinas (guitar, bass, keys) and Graham Gaffney (drums).