Rush stars Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson and Neil Peart will receive the prize on 20 April next year (17) during the 2017 Canadian Music and Broadcast Industry Awards in Toronto.

Previous winners of the award, named after Allan, a Canadian rock and roll pioneer, include Bryan Adams, Simple Plan, and the 2016 winner, Nelly Furtado.

"We are so incredibly honoured to receive the Allan Slaight Humanitarian Spirit Award. The depth of Allan and Gary Slaight's generosity, consideration and benevolence has no measure. We will strive to carry forward their spirit of charity and goodwill," Rush told

Gary Slaight, Allan's son, paid tribute to Rush, saying their charity work, which includes raising funds for Kidney treatments, Doctors Without Borders, and AIDS research, made them worthy winners.

"My father Allan Slaight believes that giving back to one's community is something we should all strive to do and the members of Rush have made a point of this throughout their career," he said.

Others who will be honoured at the ceremony at Toronto's Sheraton Centre include, Jann Arden, Arthur Fogel and Marilyn Denis, all of whom will be inducted into the Canadian music industry Hall of Fame.