Vondelpark Announce Debut Album 'Seabed' Released On April 1st 2013

Vondelpark Announce Debut Album 'Seabed' Released On April 1st 2013

Vondelpark are pleased to announce the release of their debut album, 'Seabed', on April 1st through R&S Records. It will be preceded by single 'California Analog Dream' a week earlier, on March 25th.

Up to this point Vondelpark has felt like a slightly intangible and secret entity. Both their 'Sauna' (2010) and 'NYC Stuff and NYC Bags' (2011) EPs for R&S were passed along enthusiastically in hushed tones by those that heard them. The music carried the most exciting strands of bedroom music; it sounded special, and at first it was almost impossible to tell where it had come from, or who. Certainly the first tentative and intensely personal sounds of 'Sauna' felt like the work of a solo artist, namely Lewis Rainsbury, who became the face of the band once their initial mystery eroded. The truth is that Vondelpark has always been a collaborative project and on their debut record 'Seabed', in particular, Rainsbury has worked alongside childhood friends Alex Bailey (Bass) and Matt Law (Keys) to evolve and grow the project into something that sounds like more of a band.

'Seabed' is ambitious, but also exists within a comfortable sonic world too. Pillowy textures and lush, romantic sounds run throughout the whole album. It makes for an inviting record to listen to, particularly in headphones - "it's supposed to be the ultimate bedroom listen" Rainsbury notes. "There's a lot of closure on the record, about feelings to do with being young and in love", he goes on, something clear from bittersweet tunes like 'Come On' or the gorgeously yearning 'Closer', where gentle vocals and pianos tap into something that sounds quite timeless.
'California Analog Dream' was a big highlight on Vondelpark's debut EP 'Sauna' and appears again here. On the song's initial version Rainsbury's voice kept you at arms length. On 'Seabed' his vocal take draws you in, feeling magnetic and intense. It's on this song in particular that you can really mark the changes that Vondelpark have been through over the past 18 months of recording. Lewis Rainsbury describes 'Seabed' as a coming of age album, and that's something that could just as easily apply to the impressive transformation that Vondelpark have made during its conception.

'Seabed' tracklist:
01. Quest
02. Blue Again
03. Dracula
04. Come On
05. Always Forever
06. California Analog Dream
07. Closer
08. Seabed
09. Bananas (On My Biceps)
10.  Outro 4 Ariel