30 Seconds to Mars have launched their new single from space.

The rockers - comprised of Jared Leto, Shannon Leto and Tomo Miličević - announced their fourth album, 'Love Lust + Faith Dreams', will be released on May 20, following the inter-galactic launch of their aptly-named first single, 'Up In The Air', last night (18.03.13).

The band teamed up with NASA to premiere their new track from space and a copy of the single was launched via a SpaceX cargo mission on March 1. It was given its first ever play by astronauts orbiting 230 miles above Earth on the International Space Station at midnight Greenwich Mean Time today (19.03.13).

The trio then took part in a Q&A session with fans from Mission Control in Houston, Texas.

The artwork for 'Love Lust + Faith Dreams' is a replica of artist Damien Hirst's 'Isonicotinic Acid Ethyl Ester' piece from his Spot Paintings series, while another of his works from the Colour Charts series will appear on the CD itself.

Frontman Jared, has claimed the band's first album since 2009's 'This Is War' is an ''evolution'' and he believes their new sound is their most provocative to date.

He said: ''It's an evolution, this album is more of who we are than we have ever been before, and we've gone to an entirely new place, which is incredibly exciting. And it's provocative at the same time, because changes bring new opportunities, new challenges, a chance to learn.''

The tracklisting for 'Love Lust Faith + Dreams' is:



'Up In The Air'

'City Of Angels'

'The Race'

'End Of All Days'

'Pyres Of Varanasi'

'Bright Lights'

'Do Or Die'


'Northern Lights'

'Depuis Le Début'