Adele, Arctic Monkeys and Madness are all nominated for Association of Independent Music (AIM) Awards.

The annual awards show honours UK acts signed to independent labels, with this year's nominations led by heavy metal group Enter Shikari, who have nods for Best Live Act, Hardest Working Band and Independent Album of the Year, for their third album, 'A Flash Flood of Colour'.

Alabama Shakes, Frank Turner and Madness are just behind, with two nods each.

Award categories also include Most Played Independent Act, Independent Album of the Year and Best Independent Festival.

The awards will be hosted by radio DJs and longstanding champions of independent music, Huw Stevens and Steve Lamacq.

Steve said: ''It raises the profile of the indie sector - but it's also very valuable in bringing indie label heads together for a night to swap advice and discuss the future.

''And on top of that it's terrific to mark some of the achievements of the musicians and labels who've excelled in their field.''

Two AIM winners have already been announced, with Edwyn Collins to receive the Outstanding Contribution to Music prize, and Mute records label head Daniel Miller receiving the Pioneer Award.

The AIM winners will be announced when the awards take place on October 29 in London.

AIM Awards 2012, full list of nominations:

Best Live Act

The Cribs

Dub Pistols

Enter Shikari

The Prodigy

Frank Turner

Independent Breakthrough of the Year

Alabama Shakes

Alt - J

Django Django



Hardest Working Band or Artist


Cancer Bats

Enter Shikari

Frank Turner

Skinny Lister

Best Difficult Second Album

Admiral Fallow - 'Tree Bursts In Snow'

First Aid Kit - 'The Lion's Roar'

Speech Debelle - 'Freedom of Speech'

The Invisible - 'Rispah'

The Skints - 'Part & Parcel'

Independent Album of the Year

Alabama Shakes - 'Boys & Girls'

Enter Shikari - 'A Flash Flood of Colour'

Liars - 'Wixiw'

Future of the Left - 'The Plot Against Common Sense'

Rustie - 'Glass Swords'

Best Small Label

Alcopop! Records

Black Butter Records


Pink Mist

Xtra Mile Recordings

Genre Spotlight Award

Broadcaster Ft Peggy Seeger - 'Folksploitation'

Lorn - 'Ask the Dust'

Neil Cowley Trio - 'The Face of Mount Molehill'

Netsky - '2'

Wiley - Evolve or Be Extinct

Independent Entrepreneur of The Year

Alex Di Savoia - Aardvark Records

Chris Goss / Tony Colman / Tom Kelsey - Hospital Records

Louis Barabbas - Debt Records

Sam Dyson - Distiller Records

Simon Raymonde - Bella Union

PPL Award for Most Played Independent Act


Arctic Monkeys

Caro Emerald



Special Catalogue Release of the Year

Amon Tobin - 'Amon Tobin'

Madness - 'A Guided Tour of Madness'

Can - 'The Lost Tapes'

The 13th Floor Elevators - 'Music Of The Spheres'

Various Artists - 'The Original Sound Of Cumbia'

Independent Label of the Year


Bella Union

Hospital Records


Ninja Tune

Indie Champion Award

Olli Dutton - Obscene Strategies

Ian Evans - IME Music

Steve Lamacq - BBC 6music

Katie Parsons - Kerrang!

Shell Zenner - Amazing Radio

Best Independent Festival

In The Woods Festival

Truck Festival

Y Not Festival


Bearded Theory