Alexandra Burke will return with a ''sleeker'' and ''more sophisticated'' sound.

The 'Bad Boys' hitmaker will unveil six new tracks on her 'New Rules EP', her first release since signing a management deal in the US with prestigious company KWL Management.

The collection will be available for download from September in a bid to raise support ahead of the star's third studio album, scheduled for next year.

The EP - which includes a tracks featuring rapper Wretch 32 - has been released as a ''thank you'' to fans who have supported Alexandra throughout her career.

The announcement follows the 24-year-old's departure from her UK record label, RCA, last month to work in the US with music mogul Kevin Liles, who helped launch the careers of Jay Z and Kanye West.

Alexandra previously told how she had been writing and recording plenty for the follow up to 2012's 'Heartbreak on Hold'.

She told BANG Showbiz: '' I've been in Los Angeles and New York a lot, and if the producers cant' fly to me, I fly to them. I have recorded maybe 15 songs, I usually do 60 to 70 songs for an album and whittle it down. It stretches me, I've been doing two songs a night.''

Alexandra was first signed to Sony's Syco record label after winning 'The X Factor' in 2008, but moved to RCA in 2011.