The Scarface moviemaker will receive the Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker 2015 Award, which recognises directors who have made an outstanding contribution to cinema.

The prize presentation on 9 September (15) will be followed by the world premiere of Noah Baumbach and Jake Paltrow's documentary film De Palma, which will give fans a look at the director's creative process.

Announcing the news in a statement, festival boss Alberto Barbera writes, "The child of an artistic era (the '70s) full of innovative ferment, Brian De Palma has made a name for himself as one of the most skillful directors in constructing perfect narrative mechanics with great creative freedom, experimenting with new technical solutions, rejecting the classic rules of the language, abandoning himself to aesthetic virtuosity, and celebrating his favorite authors.

"When watching a movie by Brian De Palma, we revert to being basic spectators. Although our eyes are wide open to avoid falling into the trap, we know full well we're bound to fall into it anyway.

"De Palma's cinema is playful to the Nth degree; it is a pleasure for the eyes and at the same time a game that tantalizes the cinephile. He has never lost the curiosity of the experimenter as he reinvents the already-seen, and when it comes to constructing and manipulating images, this fundamental trait makes De Palma one of the greatest innovators who came of age in the shadow of the New Hollywood."

De Palma is no stranger to the Venice Film Festival stage - his Iraq war drama, Redacted, won the Silver Lion in 2007, while he has also presented six other movies at the annual event over the years.

Last year's (14) Glory to the Filmmaker Award was handed to James Franco, while previous winners also include Al Pacino, Spike Lee and Abbas Kiarostami.

The Venice Film Festival runs from 2 to 12 September (15).