This year, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is making amendments for past oversights, in which several backing bands of first generation rock and roll stars (such as Buddy Holly) were not inducted into the Hall of fame at the same time as their frontmen. The 2012 induction list now includes GENE VINCENT's Blue Caps, James Brown's Famous Flames, Hank Ballard's Midnighters, BILL HALEY's Comets and Smokey Robinson's Miracles.
In 1987, there was uproar when Smokey Robinson was inducted into the Hall of Fame but not The Miracles, according to Rolling Stone magazine. The rules of induction state that an artist is only eligible for induction when 25 years have passed since their first release. In 1987, Smokey had only been a solo artist for 14 years, yet The Miracles were omitted from the ceremony. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's president and Ceo, Joel Peresman has made a statement saying "these Inductees are pioneers in the development of the music we call rock and roll. As part of our mission to recognize the most impactful, innovative and influential artists in rock, the committee brought forth these six groups that belong in the Hall of Fame."
Amongst the other artists having their work acknowledged this year are Guns N Roses, Laura Nyro, Donovan, Small Faces, Red Hot Chili Peppers and BEASTIE BOYS.