In the first year since opening up nominations to international writers, The Man Booker Prize has announced its longlist for 2014 with almost a third of writers coming from America. In a much criticised decision, organisers of the prestigious literary prize announced last year that the rules of eligibility were changing - prompting fears that the list would be swamped by U.S. writers.

Man Booker PrizeThe Man Booker Prize 2013 [Getty/WPA Pool]

Of the 13 longlisted authors for 2014, Joshua Ferris, Karen Joy Fowler, Siri Hustvedt and Richard Powers would not have been eligible under the original rules. Nevertheless, judges left of American author Dona Tartt, whose novel The Goldfinch won the Pulitzer Prize. 

Six authors represent Britain, including David Mitchell and previous Booker winner Howard Jacobson. However, Will Self, Martin Amis, Philip Hensher and - perhaps most surprisingly - Ian McEwan were left off the list.

This year's judging committee is chaired by AC Grayling. 

"This is a diverse list of ambition, experiment, humour and artistry. The novels selected are full of wonderful stories and fascinating characters," said the philosopher.

The shortlist of six novels will be announced on September 9, with the prize-giving ceremony taking place at London's Guildhall the following month. Eleanor Catton became the youngest recipient of the prize last year, winning for her novel The Luminaries.

Next page: check out the full longlist for the Man Booker Prize