The prizegiving, which celebrates the best American Latino contributions to music, television, and film, has been held every year since 1995, but organisers have now confirmed the 2015 edition will not go ahead.

A statement from the National Council of la Raza (NCLR), the organisation behind the ceremony, reveals bosses are now reassessing the future of the show.

"We recognize (sic) that a lot has changed in the media and entertainment industry since... the 1995 launch of the NCLR ALMA Awards," says NCLR spokesperson Delia de la Vara.

"The industry continues to change every day... We are taking the time to step back and think about what's changed since 1995 - to think about our role and how Latinos participate in this new environment, and reassess the right course for the ALMAs going forward... We look forward to sharing more with you on the future direction of the ALMAs at NCLR over the course of the next year, so stay tuned."

The 2014 event was hosted by Eva Longoria and Mario Lopez, and previous winners have included Christina Aguilera, Rosario Dawson, Carlos Santana, Naya Rivera and Pitbull.