English music producer Jamie XX has announced he is to release his debut solo album, In Colour, this year. Real name Jamie Smith, who is also a member of acclaimed band The xx, will release the record via the Young Turks label in June.

The XXJamie xx [R] will release his debut studio album, In Colours, later this year. 

In Colour will feature the previously released tracks Girl and Sleep Sound as well as collaborations with xx band-mate Romy Madleu Croft and a track called Seesaw made with the electronic musician Four Tet.

"There's one track where I need to get the vocal on, but I don't know who the vocalist is going to be yet," he explained earlier this year. 

"I never really listen to lyrics...but I can understand [them] a little bit more when it's spoken word rather than singing. It gets to my head a bit quicker." 

More: what can we expect from the third xx album?

Jamie xx recently debuted the new song, Alba, during a BBC Radio 1 mix. The song will be released as part of Record Store Day on April 18, featuring on a 7-inch album for the soundtrack of the silent movie Continuum. 

Smith is also thought to be simultaneously working on The xx's third album, which is the follow-up to 2012's Coexist.

"We've got quite a lot of songs that are not finished, but I'm excited about it," the producer told The Fader. "It feels a lot more free than when we were making the last record. I think the most inspiring thing, really, is just not being anywhere crazy and just being at home," he added.

More: Jack White revealed as mystery bidder on Elvis' first ever recording