Music Reviews


Katie Kittermaster - Lukewarm Lover Single Review

Katie Kittermaster, a twenty year old singer-songwriter from The Garden Of England, releases her latest single, 'Lukewarm Lover' on Revanche Records this week.

By Andrew Lockwood on 22 January 2021

LUMER - Disappearing Act EP Review

Post-Punk foursome LUMER are set to release their debut EP, 'Disappearing Act' on January 29th.

By Andrew Lockwood on 15 January 2021

Shame - Drunk Tank Pink Album Review

Almost three years to the day that Shame released their visceral debut album Songs Of Praise they are releasing the follow up, Drunk Tank Pink.

By Andrew Lockwood on 11 January 2021

Sleaford Mods - Spare Ribs Album Review

Spare Ribs, Sleaford Mods sixth full length studio album, is a thirteen track record born out of a social commentary that forms the very ethos of the band.

By Andrew Lockwood on 07 January 2021

Sleaford Mods

Four Tet - Parallel and 871 Album Review

Kieran Hebden, aka Four Tet, released not one but two albums, 'Parallel' and '871', simultaneously on Christmas Day.

By Andrew Lockwood on 30 December 2020

Four Tet

Playboi Carti - Whole Lotta Red Album Review

Playboi Carti decided that Christmas Day was the day to give all of his fans a present rather than his own son Onyx as he released his latest album, 'Whole Lotta Red' just as Santa was making his rounds.

By Andrew Lockwood on 26 December 2020

Kanye West Kid Cudi Bon Iver

Taylor Swift - Evermore Album Review

Evermore follows just five months after Folklore; the result of a fruitful creative experience that just never seemed to end for Taylor Swift and her team.

By Holly Mosley on 11 December 2020

Taylor Swift

Yungblud - Weird! Album Review

Yungblud's latest album Weird! just won't settle into any one genre.

By Holly Mosley on 04 December 2020

Yungblud

Stabbing Westward - Dead And Gone EP Review

As shock comebacks go, the return of Stabbing Westward after 19 years, maybe this year's biggest.

Posted 04 December 2020

Stabbing Westward

Fritz von Runte - The Last Album Review

Having not released a record of original material for 11 years, Fritz von Runte fans were excited to hear he was back with his new LP, The Last Album.

By Daniel Falconer on 07 November 2020

Al-Qasar - Miraj EP Review

Mostly known in North America for his work with psych-rock outfit Blaak Heat, Thomas Attar Bellier is back with this completely new musical project and direction.

Posted 06 November 2020

Jamie Lenman - King of Clubs EP Review

Since returning to his musical ventures in 2013, the former Reuben vocalist has become a valuable member of the British alt-rock scene.

Posted 27 October 2020

I Don't Know How But They Found Me - Razzmatazz Album Review

After I Don't Know How But They Found Me (iDKHOW) released their 1981 Extended Play back in 2018, we had quite a strong idea about what to expect for their debut album Razzmatazz.

By Holly Mosley on 23 October 2020

Beabadoobee - Fake It Flowers Album Review

We're not really sure what we were expecting from Filipino-British singer-songwriter Beabadoobee's debut studio album Fake It Flowers, but it certainly wasn't this.

By Holly Mosley on 22 October 2020

The Struts - Strange Days Album Review

We truly are living some "Strange Days" right now, so The Struts' third output feels like one of the most appropriate albums we've heard all year.

By Holly Mosley on 16 October 2020

The Struts

WE ARE CHAOS - Marilyn Manson Album Review

We were actually quite excited about Marilyn Manson's WE ARE CHAOS. The question is whether or not we were sorely disappointed...

By Holly Mosley on 11 September 2020

Marilyn Manson

Fenne Lily - Breach Album Review

Nearly two and a half years since the release of her arresting debut album 'On Hold', Fenne Lily returns with her second album 'Breach'.

By Andrew Lockwood on 07 September 2020

Mark Lanegan - Straight Songs Of Sorrow Album Review

Mark Lanegan's 'Straight Songs Of Sorrow' follows last year's release 'Somebody's Knocking' and is inspired by his own life and his memoir 'Sing Backwards And Weep'

By Andrew Lockwood on 04 May 2020

Mark Lanegan

Joan As Police Woman - Cover Two Album Review

Joan's 2020 release, 'Cover Two', includes artists from Neil Young to Blur and Talk Talk to Outkast.

By Andrew Lockwood on 30 April 2020

Joan as Police Woman

BC Camplight - Shortly After Take Off Album Review

On BC Camplight's latest album, 'Shortly After Take Off', he has once again tapped into his genius and produced some wonderfully weird and wonky songs.

By Andrew Lockwood on 09 April 2020

BC Camplight

How the Mifo O5 PRO earbuds made us cordless converts [REVIEW]

The Mifo O5 PROs are some of the most durable wireless earbuds on the market and we can't recommend them enough.

By Holly Mosley on 09 April 2020

Laura Marling - Song For Our Daughter Album Review

Laura Marling's latest album 'Song For Our Daughter' was due for release later this year, until Marling announced that she had decided to bring the release forward.

By Andrew Lockwood on 07 April 2020

Laura Marling

Celine Dion - The Courage World Tour 2020 Live Review

Celine Dion is an extremely successful singer, who built her career with the best-known hits and her unique characteristics. Ever since her first show and her first single, Celine Dion has been the most demanded Canadian artist on the big...

By Lenny Barksdale on 06 April 2020

Purity Ring - Womb Album Review

It's been five years since Purity Ring released Another Eternity, but little has changed in their overall sound and macabre lyrical themes now that they are here with Womb.

By Holly Mosley on 03 April 2020

Purity Ring

Anna Burch - If You're Dreaming Album Review

Just over two years since the release of her vibrant debut album, Anna Burch is back with her second full-length album: 'If You're Dreaming'.

By Andrew Lockwood on 02 April 2020

The Chats - High Risk Behaviour Album Review

The Chats' debut album High Risk Behaviour is the most punk thing we've heard in years.

By Holly Mosley on 27 March 2020

James Righton - The Performer Album Review

James Righton's latest album is well-produced, well-arranged and put together very proficiently and professionally.

By Andrew Lockwood on 19 March 2020

Shock Machine

Halestorm - Vicious (Stripped) EP Review

These acoustic reprises of songs that appeared on Halestorm's 2018's album 'Vicious' show the band in a whole new light.

Posted 16 March 2020

Halestorm

Deap Lips - Deap Lips Album Review

Deap Lips certainly leans more into Flaming Lips territory than Deap Vally, aside from the vocals. But did it leave much of an impression?

By Holly Mosley on 13 March 2020

Deap Vally Flaming Lips

Frank Turner, Micah Schnabel, Jess Guise - Leas Cliff Hall 03.03.2020 Live Review

For the opening night of his latest UK tour Frank Turner packed out Leas Cliff Hall for his first gig in Folkestone, playing a solo tour with no Sleeping Souls for the first time in years.

By Andrew Lockwood on 10 March 2020

Frank Turner

Blossoms - Margate Winter Gardens 08.03.2020 Live Review

The Winter Gardens saw Blossoms in the Spring as the band brought their 2020 tour to the seaside to promote their third album, 'Foolish Loving Spaces'.

By Andrew Lockwood on 10 March 2020

Blossoms

Damien Jurado - The Quarterhouse, Folkestone 01.03.2020 Live Review

The Quarterhouse, and Melting Vinyl, played host to two inspired performances in Folkestone on the first evening of March.

By Andrew Lockwood on 03 March 2020

Damien Jurado

Green Day - Father of All... Album Review

'Father of All...' isn't an awful album but it certainly isn't that good either.

Posted 27 February 2020

Green Day

Hattie Webb - The Gulbenkian Theatre, Canterbury 12.02.2020 Live Review

Hattie Webb not only brought a couple of harps but also Andrea Resce, her brother and a collection of cold remedies to the cathedral city of Canterbury.

By Andrew Lockwood on 17 February 2020

Tennis - Swimmer Album Review

Husband and wife twosome Tennis release their fifth studio album 'Swimmer' on Valentines Day.

By Andrew Lockwood on 13 February 2020

Tennis

Frazey Ford - U Kin B the Sun Album Review

'U Kin B the Sun' is an album rich in texture and depth and one that quite obviously, and unapologetically, plays to Frazey Ford's strengths.

By Andrew Lockwood on 10 February 2020

Lissy Taylor - Mayday Single Review

Lissy Taylor's 'Mayday' might be born out of distress, despair and some despondency but it rails against the negativity of bad relationships.

By Andrew Lockwood on 10 February 2020

3TEETH + PIG - The Key Club, Leeds 04.02.2020 Live Review

3TEETH hit Leeds for the first time with support from British artist PIG.

By Holly Mosley on 05 February 2020

Kaiser Chiefs - The Brighton Centre, Brighton 30.01.2020 Live Review

In support of their seventh studio album 'Duck', Kaiser Chiefs packed out The Brighton Centre to delight the lively crowd with their anthemic tunes.

By Andrew Lockwood on 03 February 2020

Kaiser Chiefs

Smoke Fairies - Elsewhere, Margate 26.01.2020 Live Review

Ahead of their upcoming tour, and prior to the release of their long awaited album, Smoke Fairies played a great warm-up gig at Elsewhere in Margate.

By Andrew Lockwood on 30 January 2020

Smoke Fairies

Dry Cleaning - Ramsgate Music Hall 12.01.2020 Live Review

Two weeks ahead of Independent Venue Week, Dry Cleaning made 'Britain's Best Small Venue 2015' (NME) the second port of call on their 2020 tour.

By Andrew Lockwood on 16 January 2020

The Libertines - The Winter Gardens, Margate, Kent 22.12.2019 Live Review

For their last gig of the year, The Libertines came back to their adopted hometown of Margate to finish off their latest tour.

By Andrew Lockwood on 09 January 2020

The Libertines

Sinead O'Connor - O2 Shepherd's Bush Empire, London 16.12.2019 Live Review

Sinead O'Connor made a triumphant return to the stage when she played to a sold-out crowd at Shepherd's Bush Empire.

By Andrew Lockwood on 23 December 2019

Sinead Oconnor

Bastille - Margate Winter Gardens 10.12.2019 Live Review

Bastille rocked up at The Winter Gardens in Margate for their 'Doom Days Club Nights' tour, making sure they were playing in more unfamiliar towns and cities.

By Andrew Lockwood on 12 December 2019

Bastille

Stealing Sheep - Elsewhere, Margate 6.12.2019 Live Review

Stealing Sheep made their way down to Elsewhere in Margate to put on their wholly unique and utterly captivating live show.

By Andrew Lockwood on 12 December 2019

Feeder - Rock City, Nottingham 20.11.2019 Live Review

For the Nottingham date of Feeder's Tallulah tour, you just know before it even starts that it's going to be a banging show.

By Mark Moore on 05 December 2019

Feeder

Tokyo Tea Room - The Quarterhouse, Folkestone 30.11.2019 Live Review

Melting Vinyl brought local talent to the fore as it showcased a set by Tokyo Tea Room on the day of their latest EP release, 'Dream Room'.

By Andrew Lockwood on 03 December 2019

Holy Moly & The Crackers - The Studio at The Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury 31.11.2019 Live Review

Holy Moly & The Crackers journeyed down from their hometown of Newcastle Upon Tyne to play in Canterbury, where they thought they'd be playing to three people!

By Andrew Lockwood on 02 December 2019

False Advertising - The Forum, Tunbridge Wells 20.11.2019 Live Review

False Advertising popped down to The Forum in Tunbridge Wells to showcase their incendiary live show.

By Andrew Lockwood on 25 November 2019

Squeeze - Leas Cliff Hall 19.11.2019 Live Review

Squeeze came to the South-East coast to entertain a packed out Leas Cliff Hall.

By Andrew Lockwood on 21 November 2019

Squeeze

Suggested

Glastonbury 2021 Cancelled: The first of many festivals, or just the biggest casualty?

Glastonbury 2021 Cancelled: The first of many festivals, or just the biggest casualty?

"With great regret, we must announce that this year's Glastonbury Festival will not take place," came the not altogether unexpected announcement from the Glastonbury organisers.

Twitter reacts to unforgivable headlines surrounding the death of convicted murderer Phil Spector

Twitter reacts to unforgivable headlines surrounding the death of convicted murderer Phil Spector

Here's what the public had to say about the death of Phil Spector.

Lana Del Rey - Chemtrails Over The Country Club Video

Lana Del Rey - Chemtrails Over The Country Club Video

Lana Del Rey takes her 60s vintage aesthetic to the extreme with the video for new single 'Chemtrails Over The Country Club'.

Thom Yorke, Garbage and more react to disastrous visa negotiations

Thom Yorke, Garbage and more react to disastrous visa negotiations

As negotiations continue, it's clear that the UK government doesn't have everyone's best interests at heart.

Racism or white fragility? We need to talk about Lana Del Rey

Racism or white fragility? We need to talk about Lana Del Rey

The singer awkwardly responded to potential backlash regarding her new album cover.

Album of the Week: The 5th anniversary of David Bowie's Blackstar

Album of the Week: The 5th anniversary of David Bowie's Blackstar

Five years ago, on the day of his 69th birthday and two days before his death, David Bowie released his 25th, and final studio album,...

Upcoming Releases: The January albums ringing in 2021

Upcoming Releases: The January albums ringing in 2021

These are the albums we're looking forward to most this month.

Advertisement
People are re-sharing a 1983 interview on race with David Bowie and it's beyond iconic

People are re-sharing a 1983 interview on race with David Bowie and it's beyond iconic

David Bowie poses difficult questions about lack of racial diversity on MTV.

The KLF: The Return Of The Justified Ancients Of Mu Mu

The KLF: The Return Of The Justified Ancients Of Mu Mu

Nearly twenty nine years since they famously deleted their entire back catalogue The KLF have re-emerged to upload their songs onto streaming sites, including Spotify.

Wonder Women 1984: Musical Icons Of Their Age.

Wonder Women 1984: Musical Icons Of Their Age.

As Gal Gadot's Wonder Woman 1984 seems to be everywhere at the moment we thought we'd take a look back at the wonder women of...

The Pretty Reckless - 25 Video

The Pretty Reckless - 25 Video

Taylor Momsen radiates some seriously ethereal beauty in the video for The Pretty Reckless' latest single '25'.

From WAP to Say So: 10 pop songs that made our year

From WAP to Say So: 10 pop songs that made our year

The 2020 pop masterpieces that we've had on repeat.

2020's Most Searched For Artists On Google

2020's Most Searched For Artists On Google

After a crazy year of CoVID19 enforced lockdowns this year's most searched for things on Google were likely to have been skewed somewhat by the...

The Year of the Woman: Our top 10 albums of 2020

The Year of the Woman: Our top 10 albums of 2020

From Fiona Apple to Laura Marling, women have come out on top this year.

The Long Goodbye: A Brexit inspired playlist.

The Long Goodbye: A Brexit inspired playlist.

As we reach the death throws of the protracted Brexit negotiations between The United Kingdom and Europe we thought we'd compile our own little playlist...

U2 open up about their Vegas experiences in Brian Doogan's new boxing book 'The SuperFight'

U2 open up about their Vegas experiences in Brian Doogan's new boxing book 'The SuperFight'

Ringside seats to Hagler vs Leonard and buddying up with Frank Sinatra, U2 have fond memories of their time in Vegas.

Advertisement
Artists
Actors
    Filmmakers
      Artists
      Bands
        Musicians
          Artists
          Celebrities
             
              Artists
              Interviews