Neil Young has released his thirty-seventh studio album 'Peace Trail' featuring 10 acoustic tracks which he wrote in the last six months - five of which he previewed at October's Desert Trip Festival. The album was recorded at Shangri-La studios in less than a week.

Neil YoungNeil Young unveils 'Peace Trail'

'Peace Trail' is a mainly acoustic collection of songs which Young began writing after soon after his summer live album release 'Earth' which featured backing band Promise of the Real. Recorded at Rick Rubin's Shangri-La Studios he opted to work with drummer Jim Keltner and bassist Paul Bushnell to make a change from his recently close collaboration with Promise of the Real, and it was co-produced and mixed by his usual recording partner John Hanlon.

The new album comes just a year after his last studio offering 'The Monsanto Years', which like 'Earth' featured Promise of the Real - band led by Willie Nelson's son Lukas Nelson. 'Peace Trail' was recorded in just four days compared with the former's one month work time.

More: Neil Young was fine with Donald Trump using his music

Five songs from the ten-track release, including track three 'Indian Givers', have already been previewed at October's Desert Trip Festival in in Indio, California; a show endearingly nicknamed 'Oldchella' (a play on the same city's Coachella Festival) for its line-up of oldies including Bob Dylan, The Rolling Stones, Paul McCartney, Pink Floyd's Roger Waters and The Who.

Young has barely had a break from the studio in two years. 2014 saw two albums: 'A Letter Home' which was produced by Jack White and released on his label Third Man Records, and 'Storytone' which saw his first collaboration with a big orchestra.

The tracklising is as follows: 'Peace Trail', 'Can't Stop Workin'', 'Indian Givers', 'Show Me', 'Texas Rangers', 'Terrorist Suicide Hang Gliders', 'John Oaks', 'My Pledge', 'Glass Accident' and 'My New Robot'.

'Peace Trail' dropped on December 9th 2016 through Reprise Records.