Little Mix re-recorded their new album in its entirety because they're ''perfectionists''.

The British girl group - which is made up of Jade Thirlwall, 22, Perrie Edwards, 21, Leigh-Anne Pinnock and Jesy Nelson, both 23 - have not released an album since their 2013 hit 'Salute', and Jesy has revealed why they haven't brought out another record since.

She explained: ''We've been away a while because we wrote an album, sat with the record label and we thought, 'Nope, it's not good enough'.

''We recorded a whole album but we're perfectionists and knew we could do better. So we scrapped it and started again.

''It was very stressful, it just wasn't happening.''

Meanwhile, Jade said that their new album has a distinctly different sound to their previous release.

She told The Sun newspaper: '''Salute' was very R&B and dark, this album is more fun. And there's a lot of banter on it.''

The new album features collaborations with the likes of Jessie J and Jess Glynne, and Perrie has predicted fans will enjoy what they'll hear.

She explained: ''I think the Jessie collaboration is a song the fans will like.

''And a lot of the cheeky banter on the album comes from Jess Glynne, she's one of the most fun people to be around.''