Noel Gallagher admitted Gorillaz deserved a prize at the GQ Men of the Year awards last night (07.09.10).

The former Oasis rocker praised the animated group - masterminded by his former bitter chart rival Damon Albarn - as they collected the Band of the Year accolade at the star-studded ceremony at London's Royal Opera House.

Noel told The Sun newspaper: "Gorillaz definitely deserve some kind of award - if only for having 104 people on stage at Glastonbury. What a f***ing rider that must've been to organise."

Noel was at the ceremony to hand veteran Kinks frontman Ray Davies an Outstanding Achievement award.

Controversial US rocker Alice Cooper, who was sitting next to him at the awards spoke of the influence Ray had on his career.

He said: "It was British bands like The Beatles, The Rolling Stones and The Kinks that got me into music. Ray is the man who made me want to write songs. I learned everything I know from analysing his songs."

The annual awards show by the English magazine also saw rapper Dizzee Rascal pick up Solo Artist of the Year, while 'Doctor Who' star Matt Smith was honoured as Actor of the Year.

Hollywood star Jason Statham picked up the Editor's Special award, while fashion designer Giorgio Armani was named Designer of the Year.

Though the ceremony honours high-profile men, actress Gemma Arterton also picked up a gong at the bash, taking home the International Woman of the Year trophy.

Other stars to appear at the event included musician and producer Mark Ronson, model Daisy Lowe and pregnant singer Lily Allen.

Full list of GQ Men of the Year awards winners:

Outstanding Achievement - Ray Davies

Solo Artist of the Year - Dizzee Rascal

International Woman of the Year - Gemma Arterton

International Man of the Year - Jon Hamm

Band of the Year - Gorillaz

Actor of the Year - Matt Smith

Sportsman of the Year - Ryan Giggs

Comedian of the Year - James Corden

Chef of the Year - Heston Blumenthal

Editor's Special - Jason Statham

Most Stylish Man of the Year - Aaron Johnson

Politician of the Year - David Cameron

Designer of the Year - Giorgio Armani

Alfred Dunhill Cultural Icon - Anish Kapoor

Breakthrough Talent of the Year - Ed Westwick

Writer of the Year - Martin Amis

Newspaper Editor of the Year - Simon Kelner

Entrepreneur of the Year - Nick Jones