Pet Shop Boys are set to return this Spring with their thirteenth studio album 'Super', followed by some exciting one-off residency shows at the Royal Opera House. The album will follow up their acclaimed 2013 album 'Electric', which reached number three in the UK Album Chart.

Pet Shop BoysPet Shop Boys return with a brand new album

The London synthpop duo reteamed for their new project alongside Grammy-winning producer Stuart Price in Los Angeles, who worked on their previous album as well as Madonna's 'Confessions on a Dance Floor', Seal's 'System' and The Killers' 'Day & Age'. The album is expected to drop in April.

Singer Neil Tennant and keyboardist Chris Lowe are also pleased to announce their only UK shows this year; a 4-night series of shows at London's Royal Opera House in Covent Garden between July 20th and 23rd that they have called 'Inner Sanctum' after one of their new songs. A clip of the track can actually be heard on their launch video with the lyrics: 'In the inner sanctum you're a star; the girls, the guys, they all know who you are.'

The song will also be available as an instant download for all who pre-order 'Super' on iTunes, and will appear alongside another one of their new tunes 'The Pop Kids'; a breath of nostalgia from the 90s UK club scene and the album's lead single.

More: A Pet Shop Boys cover is named best re-work ever

'It was fantastic to be back in the studio with Stuart Price continuing from where we left off with Electric and we're thrilled with the results', the Pet Shop Boys stated. 'It's also very exciting to take electronic music into the Royal Opera House - such a grand and beautiful venue. These will be four very special nights for us and our only UK concerts this year.'

'Super' will be released on April 1st 2016 through x2 Records via Kobalt.

1. Happiness
2. The Pop Kids
3. Twenty-Something
4. Groovy
5. The Dictator Decides
6. Pazzo!
7. Inner Sanctum
8. Undertow
9. Sad Robot World 
10. Say It To Me
11. Burn
12. Into Thin Air