The Pretty Woman star will be honoured with the Crystal Globe for outstanding contribution to world cinema, and he will also open the event by presenting his film Time Out of Mind with director Oren Moverman and actress Jena Malone.

He follows in the footsteps of previous winners including Mel Gibson, John Travolta, Oliver Stone, Dame Helen Mirren, Harvey Keitel and John Malkovich.

The event runs between 3-11 July (15).