‘Zero Motivation’ and ‘Point and Shoot’ have taken the top prizes at the Tribeca Film Festival. The former picked up the mainaward, that of Best Film, while the latter prospered in the documentary category.

Zero Motivation"Zero Motivation"

“Zero Motivation was described by the jurors as "the most hilarious film we saw at the festival," The dark comedy about the everyday life of a unit of young female Israeli soldiers was directed by Talya Lavie. "We believe a new powerful voice has emerged," they added of Lavie, who made her directorial debut with the film. 

“Point and Shoot" – directed by Marshall Curry - won best documentary. The film follows a reclusive Baltimore man who joined up with Libyan rebels in 2011. He films himself through much of his adventures, including a six-month stint in solitary confinement.

This year’s Tribeca kicked off with “Time is Illmatic” – an exploration of Nas’ life from projects to critically acclaimed rap career, born of his debut album Ilmatic, whichi s widely considered to be the finest rap album of all time. The festival will conclude this Sunday, April 25.  

Point and Shoot"Point and Shoot"

The full list of winners is below.

World Narrative Competition
The Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature – "Zero Motivation"
Special Jury Mention: "The Kidnapping of Michel Houellebecq"
Best Actor in a Narrative Feature Film – Paul Schneider,  "Goodbye to All That"
Best Actress in a Narrative Feature Film – Valeria Bruni Tedeschi as Carla Bernaschi, "Human Capital"
Best Cinematography – Damian García, "Güeros"
Best Screenplay – Guillaume Nicloux, "The Kidnapping of Michel Houellebecq"
Best Narrative Editing – Keith Miller, "Five Star" 

World Documentary Competition
Best Documentary Feature – "Point and Shoot" 
Special Jury Mention: "Regarding Susan Sontag"
Best Documentary Editing – Sabne Lubbe Bakker and Niels van Koevorden, "Ne Me Quitte Pas"
Best New Narrative Director Competition
Best New Narrative Director – Josef Wladyka, "Manos Sucias"
Special Jury Mention: Alonso Ruizpalacios, "Güeros"
Best New Documentary Director Competition
Best New Documentary Director – Alan Hicks, "Keep On Keepin’ On"

Short Film Competition
Best Narrative Short – "The Phone Call"
Best Documentary Short – "One Year Lease"
Special Jury Mention: "The Next Part"
Student Visionary Award – "Nesma’s Bird"
Special Jury Mention: "Cycloid"
Bombay Sapphire Award for Transmedia
Bombay Sapphire Award for Transmedia: "Clouds"

The Nora Ephron Prize
The Nora Ephron Prize: "Zero Motivation"
Special Jury Mention: "I Won’t Come Back"

Tribeca Online Festival
Tribeca Online Festival Best Feature Film: "Vara: A Blessing"
Tribeca Online Festival Best Short Film: "Love in the Time of March Madness"