Sam Smith was the big winner at last night's (22.10.14) MOBO Awards, taking home four prizes.

The 22-year-old singer took picked up the trophies for Best Male Artist, Best R'n'B Artist, Best Song for 'Stay With Me' and Best Album for 'In the Lonely Hour' at the ceremony at London's SSE Wembley Arena.

Despite his success, Sam - who had earlier picked up Best New Act at the Q Awards - admitted he is still getting his head around fame.

He told BANG Showbiz: ''I'm still getting used to everything. I think when I think about it too much my head will just get gigantic so I need to not think about it and just let my mum carry on parenting me.''

Duo Krept & Konan - who have so far only released mix tapes independently but recently signed a record deal - beat the likes of Tinie Tempah to pick up Best Hip-Hop act and were delighted to take home the prize.

Konan said: ''I feel great! The category had a lot of people that I respect... to be honest it's a great feeling. I feel like South London's got a negative stereotype but we're turning that into a positive, representing South London, that no matter what you do, anything's possible.''

Other winners at the event included Jessie J - who opened the show with a performance of 'Bang Bang' - Ella Eyre, and Beyonce, while performances came from Professor Green and Tori Kelly, Krept and Konan and Candi Staton, who joined forces with rapper Little Simz for a rendition of her classic 1986 hit 'You've Got The Love'.

Mel B and Sarah-Jane Crawford hosted the ceremony, which returned to London for the first time in five years.

The winners were compiled 50% by the public and 50% by Mobo's Panel Of Specialists, except for Best Grime and Best Album, which was voted for by the public on Twitter.

MOBO 2014 list of winners:

MOBO Best African: Fuse ODG

MOBO Best Reggae: Stylo G

MOBO Best HipHop: Krept and Konan

MOBO Best RnB/Soul: Sam Smith

MOBO Best Gospel: Living Faith Connection Choir

MOBO Best Jazz: Zara McFarlane

MOBO Best Grime Act in association with Radio 1Xtra - Stormzy

MOBO Best Newcomer in association with HTC: Ella Eyre

MOBO Best Male: Sam Smith

MOBO Best Female: Jessie J

MOBO Best Intl: Beyoncé

MOBO Best Video: Skepta

MOBO Best Song: Sam Smith

MOBO Best Album: Sam Smith

MOBO Inspiration Award: Idris Elba