A 25th anniversary edition of Seattle supergroup Temple Of The Dog's self-titled debut album has been released today (September 30th 2016). The new collection pays tribute to their 1991 album, which also happens to be the only album they ever released. They are also due to tour the US this Fall.

Temple Of The DogTemple Of The Dog re-release their first album

Re-visit grunge masterpiece 'Temple Of The Dog' this year as the band of the same name celebrate their work 25 years later. The band is a collaboration between Soundgarden frontman Chris Cornell and Jeff Ament, Stone Gossard and Mike McCready (and, occasionally, Eddie Vedder) from Pearl Jam. The group also included drummer Matt Cameron, who's known for playing in both bands. The new version of the record has been mixed by Grammy winning producer Brendan O'Brien, who has also worked with Soundgarden and Pearl Jam in the past. 

More: Eddie Vedder performs at Global Citizens Festival

Temple Of The Dog formed in tribute to Malfunkshun and Mother Love Bone lead singer Andrew Wood who died of a heroin overdose in 1990. The death hit Chris Cornell hard, given that Wood was also his roommate at the time, and he went on to write the songs 'Say Hello 2 Heaven' and 'Reach Down'. 

'The songs didn't have any destination', Cornell said in a statement. 'I was compelled to write them and there they were - written in a vacuum as a tribute to Andy. My thought was that maybe I could record these songs with the remaining members of Mother Love Bone and that maybe we could release them as a tribute.' Those 'remaining members' later went on to form Pearl Jam.

Despite their one-album back catalogue, the band have an 8-date tour of the US coming up in November, with shows in Philadelphia, New York, San Francisco, Los Angeles and Seattle that have all been sold out. It will mark their first tour since they formed in 1990.

'Temple Of The Dog' was first released in 1990 via A&M. It reached number 5 in the US album chart and went on to be certified Platinum. From the record came three singles: 'Hunger Strike', 'Say Hello 2 Heaven' and 'Pushin Forward Back'. The late Rick Parashar produced the record with the band.