Spike Jonze's acclaimed new film Her has been given a big Oscar boost after picking up America's National Board of Review's Best Film of 2013.

Jonze has also been honoured as Best Director for the film, which stars Joaquin Phoenix, who missed out on the Best Actor trophy to Nebraska's Bruce Dern.

Emma Thompson's role as Mary Poppins creator P.L. Travers in Saving Mr. Banks has landed her the Best Actress award, while Dern's co-star Will Forte and Fruitvale Station's Octavia Spencer have scored the Best Supporting Actor and Actress honours.

Fruitvale Station's leading man Michael B. Jordan has been named the Breakthrough Performance of the year, and the film's director Ryan Coogler has been awarded the Best Directorial Debut prize.

The full list of winners is:

Best Film: Her

Best Director: Spike Jonze, Her

Best Actor: Bruce Dern, Nebraska

Best Actress: Emma Thompson, Saving Mr. Banks

Best Supporting Actor: Will Forte, Nebraska

Best Supporting Actress: Octavia Spencer, Fruitvale Station

Best Original Screenplay: Joel and Ethan Coen, Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Adapted Screenplay: Terence Winter, The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Animated Feature: The Wind Rises

Breakthrough Performance: Michael B. Jordan, Fruitvale Station

Breakthrough Performance: Adele Exarchopoulos, Blue is the Warmest Color

Best Directorial Debut: Ryan Coogler, Fruitvale Station

Best Foreign Language Film: The Past

Best Documentary: Stories We Tell

William K. Everson Film History Award: George Stevens, Jr.

Best Ensemble: Prisoners

Spotlight Award: Career Collaboration of Martin Scorsese and Leonardo DiCaprio

Creative Innovation in Filmmaking Award: Gravity