The Belle Game Announce Debut Full-length Album, Ritual Tradition Habit, Released  April 16th 2013

The Belle Game Announce Debut Full-length Album, Ritual Tradition Habit, Released April 16th 2013

Vancouver quintet, The Belle Game, released a new 7" single, "Wait Up For You", on Bella Union, and premiered a video for the song on - repost here. "Wait Up For You" is also featured on the band's upcoming debut full-length album, Ritual Tradition Habit, which will arrive in stores on April 16 via Boompa (Woodpigeon/Christopher Smith) - Pre-order your copy here. The album was recorded by John Raham (Dan Mangan/The Be Good Tanya's/Frazey Ford) and takes the listener on a journey through twelve beautifully layered tracks, interrupted by the occasional chant, hymn and instrumental rumbling.
The video for "Wait Up For You" was directed by Kheaven Lewandowski in a short film style and explores the delicate and vicious tapestry of a small cult in the 1960s. Time has stopped on a commune where a new family joins a mysterious group of people that falter to its leader and his set of teachings. A pair of young girls form a romantic bond and plot their escape as we learn of the consequences of leaving their new home.  Lewandowski explains, "The band was very encouraging with the technical approach we wanted to take with the video. With this in mind, I got to do a lot of things I've been itching to try for a while now, like long tracking shots, slow zooms and carefully composed static shots [all shot on 16 mm]. The intention was to not take any music video short cuts for cheap effect, and to instead implore a more patient approach... till shit falls apart at the end, of course."
Over the past two years, The Belle Game have built a burgeoning, loyal fanbase with the release of two EPs and performing with such artists as Gotye, Hannah Georgas, Karkwa and Said The Whale. The band takes intricate guitar and keyboard lines, anchored by dark pop rhythms, and weaves them into gorgeous, graceful melodies, which Vancouver's Georgia Straight described as "a mix of pastoral pop and percussion-bombed art rock."
SXSW Performances:
03/14 - Austin, TX @ Brass House (12am)
03/16 - Austin, TX @ Friends Bar (5pm)
Ritual Tradition Habit track listing:
1. Ritual
2. River
3. Wait Up For You
4. In Secrets
5. Wasted Light
6. Tradition
7. Bruises To Ash
8. Blame Fiction
9. Salt + Water
10. Keeps Me Up At Night
11. Little Wars (Causing Your Trouble)
12. Habit