The Libertines will release their new album 'Anthems For Doomed Youth' on September 4.

The reformed band - comprised of Pete Doherty, Carl Barât, John Hassall and Gary Powell - recorded the hotly anticipated LP with producer Jake Gosling over a six-week period at Karma Sound Studios in Thailand, in April and May and it is now ready to come out.

It is the indie rockers third studio album and their first release for 11 years and the four guys decamped to the Far East to make it so Pete could continue his rehab treatment for drug addiction and stay clean.

Bass player John admits the recording process was very different from past experiences because there was little partying and the guys all missed their kids.

John, 34, said: ''The album was challenging, because we've got families and being away from our kids for six weeks was hard.''

The album will be preceded by single 'Gunga Din', which comes out on July 3, and the video for the single was shot in 'Walking Street' Pattaya and was directed by Roger Sargent.

To coincide with the album announcement The Libertines - who played an acclaimed secret set at Glastonbury last weekend - have also announced several festival appearances and live dates throughout the summer.

'Anthems For Doomed Youth' is available to pre-order from iTunes, Amazon and the band's official website now.

The Libertines 'Anthems For Doomed Youth' tracklisting:


'Gunga Din'

'Fame and Fortune'

'Anthem for Doomed Youth'

'Heart of the Matter'

'Belly of the Beast'


'You're My Waterloo'

'Fury of Chonburi'

'The Milkman's Horse'

'Glasgow Coma Scale Blues'

'Dead For Love'