The Pixies released a brand new track on Friday (June 28), uploading the new tune 'Bagboy' to their website to stream and download (for free!). The track may be an indication that the remaining three members of the group are planning on going forward even without bassist Kim Deal, who left the group earlier this month, or it may just be something they had been working on and wanted to get out there now rather than waiting until the Best Of.

The Pixies IoW
The group have released their first new song since 'Bam Thwok'

The remaining Pixies - Black Francis, Joey Santiago and David Lovering - had their website updated today to show a stream of the new song with the option to download (which you can check out below). The group also brought out a video for the track too, directed by Lamar + Nik, which you can check out below too.

The track does sound as though Kim is on it, however a publicist for the group has since confirmed that Black's regular-collaborator, Jeremy Dubs, provided the bass section and backing vocals. Despite her absence from the song, it still retains all the angst and punk rock qualities that have made the Pixies such a renowned and beloved indie act. The track was supposedly recorded in October last year, with Francis coming up with the lyrics during the summer. The music had already been floating around for a while on old demo tapes.

This is the first new material from the band since they released 'Bam Thwok' and a cover of Warren Zevon's 'Ain't That Pretty at All' back in 2004, when they first got back together after more than a decade apart. No word on whether the band will be back on the road any time soon or whether they'll be following up the track with more material.

Kim Deal KOKO
The band announced Kim's departure earlier this week