Vince Gill was presented with the Icon Award at the 2014 BMI Country Awards last night (04.11.14).

The 57-year-old singer-songwriter was honoured at the event where his illustrious career - in which he has released more than 20 studio albums and sold 24 million copies - was celebrated.

The star was praised at the event with tributes from fellow country musicians Keith Urban, Ashley Monroe and Michael Mcdonald, who spoke highly of the the musician for his prolific songwriting.

The 62nd annual event was held at Broadcast Music, Inc.'s Music Row headquarters in Nashville, Tennessee, and also brought a victory for Darius Rucker, who won best song for his hit single 'Wagon Wheel', which was penned by Old Crow Medicine Show member, Ketch Secor.

Other awards were presented to Sony/ATV Music Publishing Nashville for Publisher of the Year, and 45-year-old country legend Rhett Akins, who picked up the prestigious gong for Songwriter of the Year.

During the ceremony, artists and publishers linked to the 50 most-performed country songs of last year were also celebrated, including performers such as Taylor Swift, Tim Mcgraw, Keith Urban and Florida Georgia Line.

The 2014 BMI Country Awards full list of winners:

Icon: Vince Gill

Song of the Year: Darius Rucker - 'Wagon Wheel'

Songwriter of the Year: Rhett Akins

Publisher of the Year: Sony/ATV Music Publishing Nashville

2014 Country Awards Top 50 songs:

Easton Corbin - 'All Over The Road'

Jake Owen - 'Anywhere With You'

Chris Young - 'Aw Naw'

Brad Paisley - 'Beat This Summer'

Blake Shelton feat. Pistol Annies & Friends - 'Boys 'Round Here'

Parmalee - 'Carolina'

Cole Swindell - 'Chillin' It'

Lady Antebellum - 'Compass'

Luke Bryan - 'Crash My Party'

The Band Perry - 'Done'

The Band Perry - 'Don't Let Me Be Lonely'

Brett Eldredge - 'Don't Ya'

Lady Antebellum - 'Downtown'

Luke Bryan - 'Drink A Beer'

Eli Young Band - 'Drunk Last Night'

Eric Paslay - 'Friday Night'

Florida Georgia Line - 'Get Your Shine On'

George Strait - 'Give It All We Got Tonight'

Billy Currington - 'Hey Girl'

Kip Moore - 'Hey Pretty Girl'

Tim McGraw and Taylor Swift - 'Highway Don't Care'

Chris Young - 'I Can Take it From There'

Lee Brice - 'I Drive Your Truck'

Hunter Hayes - 'I Want Crazy'

Thompson Square - 'If I Didn't Have You'

Thomas Rhett - 'It Goes Like This'

Zac Brown Band - 'Jump Right In'

Eric Church - 'Like Jesus Does'

Keith Urban - 'Little Bit of Everything'

Miranda Lambert - 'Mama's Broken Heart'

Blake Shelton - 'Mine Would Be You'

Brantley Gilbert - 'More Than Miles'

Jason Aldean - 'Night Train'

Lee Brice - 'Parking Lot Party'

Kenny Chesney - 'Pirate Flag'

Justin Moore - 'Point At You'

Darisu Rucker - 'Radio'

Taylor Swift - 'Red'

Florida Georgia Line - 'Round Here'

Randy Houser - 'Runnin' Outta Moonlight'

Carrie Underwood - 'See You Again'

Tim McGraw - 'Southern Girl'

Florida Georgia Line - 'Stay'

Joe Nichols - 'Sunny and 75'

Blake Shelton - 'Sure Be Cool if You Did'

Zac Brown Band - 'Sweet Annie'

Luke Bryan - 'That's My Kind of Night'

Darius Rucker - 'Wagon Wheel'

Keith Urban and Miranda Lambert - 'We Were Us'

Jason Aldean - 'When She Says Baby'