The 'Star Wars: Episode VII' cast has been officially announced.

Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew and Kenny Baker will all return to the franchise, while as previously rumoured, John Boyega, Adam Driver and Andy Serkis will also have roles in the movie.

In addition, 'Mr. Selfridge' actress Daisy Ridley, 'Inside Llewyn Davis' actor Oscar Isaac - who was first linked with the project yesterday (29.04.14) - 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows' star Domhnall Gleeson and Swedish actor Max Von Sydow have also been announced as appearing.

Director J.J. Abrams said: ''We are so excited to finally share the cast of 'Star Wars: Episode VII'.

''It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again. We start shooting in a couple of weeks, and everyone is doing their best to make the fans proud.''

The movie, which has a screenplay written by the director and Lawrence Kasban, opens worldwide on December 18, 2015.