The 'Harry Potter' film franchise will receive the award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema at this year's BAFTAs.

Jk Rowling - who wrote the books the movies are based on - and producer David Heyman will accept the prize on behalf of the film series at the star-studded ceremony at London's Royal Opera House on February 13.

Finola Dwyer, chair of the film committee, said: "As this great British film success story draws to a close with this year's eagerly anticipated final instalment, it's fitting that BAFTA honours the Harry Potter films and their contribution to the British film industry."

The first six films in the series - About A Boy wizard, starring Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint and Emma Watson - have grossed over $5.4billion worldwide, making it the top-earning film franchise of all time.

The franchise ends with the release of 'Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2' on July 15.

The Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema award was introduced in 1978 and is presented in honour of film producer Michael Balcon.

Its first recipients were the Special Visual Effects team for 'Superman' and others include Kevin Brownlow, Mike Leigh, Kenneth Branagh, Derek Jarman, Working Title, Lewis Gilbert, Channel Four Films and Pinewood & Shepperton Studios.