Last night's National Television Awards was brimming with UK celebrities, all arriving to congratulate the predictable winners, the successful newcomers and, of course, this year's Special Recognition Award recipient which was the much-loved Scottish comic Billy Connolly.

Billy Connolly and Dustin HoffmanBilly Connolly lands Special Recognition Award

The 2016 awards show actually celebrates fifty years of Connolly's comedy career, and he was branded 'unique' as he was asked to accept his award by Dustin Hoffman. 'I'm delighted to be here to pay tribute to a man whose work I've always admired and whose company I always enjoy', he said. He follows last year's winner David Tennant.

The usual winners included Entertainment Programme 'I'm A Celebrity... Get Me Out Of Here!' celebrating it's sixth year in a row and eighth award overall, 'Downton Abbey' for Best Drama for the fourth time, and Serial Drama EastEnders who earned its twelfth accolade this year.

Ant and DecAnt and Dec pick up their annual NTA award

'This Morning' was celebrated as best Live Magazine Show with its eleventh NTA award. Presenters Holly Willoughby and Phillip Schofield partied so hard after their win that they went straight to the studio to host this morning's 'This Morning' without stopping home first. They were busy revelling at Ant & Dec's Ant McPartlin's house, who was also enjoying the aftermath of his TV Presenter win with Dec Donnelly. The pair have won the award every single year since 2001 as well as bagging the Landmark Award in 2014 and a Special Recognition Award in 2002.

Phillip Schofield and Holly WilloughbyPhillip Schofield and Holly Willoughby celebrated a little too hard this year

For the second year in a row, best Challenge Show was 'The Great British Bake Off', Danny Dyer was recognised for his Serial Drama Performance in 'EastEnders', and 'Gogglebox' was named best Factual Entertainment show. 'Strictly Come Dancing' also landed the Talent Show award for the fourth time, and a very pregnant Suranne Jones won best Actress for the second time in her life; this year no doubt for 'Doctor Foster' and in 2004 it was for 'Coronation Street'.

More: Danny Dyer shows his funny side on 'Good Morning Britain'

Danny DyerDanny Dyer wins NTA award for the second time

Shows to newly land awards included the Comedy 'Peter Kay's Car Share', New Drama 'Doctor Foster', Daytime show 'The Chase' and International show 'The Big Bang Theory'. Meanwhile, Aidan Turner from 'Poldark' scooped the Impact Award and former 'X Factor' winner Shayne Ward accepted the Newcomer prize after joining the cast of 'Coronation Street', with last year's winner being 'EastEnders'' Maddy Hill.

Shayne WardShayne Ward is this year's Corrie newcomer