The Cure's Robert Smith is ''f***ing angry'' the band's label wouldn't let them release a double album.

The 'Friday I'm In Love' hitmakers are set to release '4:14 Scream', the band's first LP in six years and follow-up to 2008's '4:13 Dream', but frontman Robert is annoyed the songs weren't included on the first record.

He told NME magazine: ''It was just pure bloody-mindlessness why the tracks weren't included on the last album. I was so f***ing angry that [the label] wouldn't release a double album. I wouldn't give them the other songs.''

The new album features music recorded by Robert, along with bassist Simon Gallup, drummer Jason Cooper and guitarist Porl Thompson, who no longer plays with the band.

It's the first release since the addition of former Tin Machine musician, Reeves Gabrels, who is now on guitar, and keyboardist Roger O'Donnell, who joined them at the recent Royal Albert Hall gig in London.

Robert continued to NME magazine: ''There were a number of reasons why I felt unable to complete what we were doing with the last line-up. It was impossible to just get another group and bang out the songs we didn't release. It would have been wrong.''

Meanwhile, the new line-up plan to record their own new album and insist it will be something ''that's really different to anything else we've done''.