Veteran singers Loretta Lynn and Jackson Browne are set to be saluted with lifetime achievement prizes at the 2014 Americana Music Association Honors and Awards in Nashville, Tennessee.

Country icon Lynn will be recognised for her songwriting success, while social activist Browne will receive the Spirit of Americana Free Speech Award.

Blues musician Taj Mahal and Latin accordionist Flaco Jimenez will also be feted with the respective lifetime achievement awards for performance and instrumentalist.

The accolades will be presented to the quartet during the Americana Awards ceremony on 17 September (14).

Roseanne Cash, Robert Ellis and Jason Isbell lead the nominees for the event with three nods apiece.